Last night I went to the Glen Echo Milonga tango, showed up at 7 for the lesson bit. Saw a few people from the previous lessons from Flying Feet, waved at them, and got a wave back. Bumped into
leiacat whom I've seen a few times when
vvalkyri was around, had a respectable conversation with her. To show how little I actually see her face to face when I congradulated her on her recent wedding, she replied "That was a year ago. No, a year and a half!" The lesson was from someone new, who taught things differently than Marc, which is good. When the dancing started I danced with another beginner, and had fun. Danced with Marcia, had a *LOT* of fun, danced with anther beginner, had fun. Danced with someone who knew what she was doing, felt like crawling under a rock. When the song ended I was ready to slink back to the wall, but the lady informed me that the style we were dancing to meant the couple danced several songs till a break in the music, so I danced with her more. She was perfectly polite, never said a word, or even a strange glance, but the more I danced the more flustered I got, and by the end of the set I just wanted to be off the dance floor. I haven't had that since high school, and boy I don't miss that feeling at all. I seem to be fine when I know the other person is a newbie, or even knows me, since I don't get mortified if I make a mistake, but I don't know why I panic so much when I'm dancing with a stranger.