Paintball

Apr. 29th, 2006 07:53 pm
gsh: (Default)
[personal profile] gsh
I tagged along with [livejournal.com profile] dwarfrage for his paintballing today, which enabled me to meet [livejournal.com profile] lizkayl, [livejournal.com profile] keyosko and several other pleasant fellows that if they did lj I didn't ask. It was my first time paintballing (ROOKIE!) and its a bit pricey for a day, but cheaper than skiing. Probably about the price of an amusement park. I found that the amount testosterone was enormous, and Freud would have had a field day with the over compensation issue. However there is do doubt that paying a few hundred dollars for a paintball gun gives you a competitive advantage over the rookie using the rented gun. They could fire faster and more accurately than I could. I played 12 games, died 11 times, and I think I had 7 kills, although the last one I wasn't sure about since two of us were shooting at the same guy when he put his hand up indicating a hit. I need to bring a towel next time I go. My start wasn't anything to write home about, although it may have been typical. The first game started, I started running to the left, someone besides me calls out "movement on left" and *tap* *tap* I have wet paint on my shoulder. I'm dead within 15 seconds, and I didn't even fire a round. After getting killed in about 30 seconds in the second game, I decided to play defense more. My proudest moment might not sound like too much to some, but I was in the most leftmost part of the field for one game, and I had a good view of the bridge over the creek, and found some good cover. A group of six started for the bridge, I got one from a long range, and the others just dropped. i had better cover than they did so spent the rest of the game keeping them down with covering fire, eventually I ran dry of paintballs, but stayed there just showing the gun every 15 seconds or so, and finally someone got me. When I got back to the sanctuary area I found out that we had won that round, and I felt that even though I had died I had protected that flank.

Costs...

Date: 2006-04-30 01:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dwarfrage.livejournal.com
Yeah it is pricey for the walk on. Baseline equipment - Goggles, Gun, and tank I believe went about 150, may be even less now, seem to remember seeing it at 110-125.

Yesterday cost me 20 dollars + paint. Which I go through like air. You may not. Paint, for 2000 rounds, retails for 45-70 dollars depending on the quality. A sane person who is conversative will probably go through 1000 a day. I went through approximately 1500 yesterday.

And yeah, in a massive game like that defense is key. In a small game of 8v8 you get a much more dynamic moving game since in 20+vs20+ you can cover every approach.

Re: Costs...

Date: 2006-04-30 03:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dwarfrage.livejournal.com
Sounds like a plan. I did it my freshman year of college, and then did it once again with Bart, Ping and a couple other people and it turned into something where "Yeah, we'd like to do this more, damn it is expensive."

Bart, Ping, and I are the regulars. We didn't do much in '05 due to life, but have averaged 2-3 times a year at least since 01. I'm going to do my best to stick to a once a month schedule through September/October.

Re: Costs...

Date: 2006-04-30 03:45 pm (UTC)

June 2015

S M T W T F S
 123456
78 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 12:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios